Once you’re in Second Life, what do you do from there? Here you have a huge, strange world, most of which you don’t understand yet and don’t know how to use, and nothing you have to accomplish. You wander out and say “Hey world, here I am!” And the world just kind of walks by without glancing.

This might be a good time to say what I think Second Life is for. I think Second Life as most people seem to use it is for things that are missing in their first lives. So things they’ve always wanted to try, parts of themselves that have had to hide away or wait for their chances, ideas that there’s no place for in the real world, frustrations that get expressed in a wizardry duel or some vampire hunting, sex …

It’s kind of a strange mix. For the first week I spent a lot of time in Second Life, and my head was spinning every day. I was tired and confused but happy. In real life, we all have obligations and responsibilities, and most seem to be more than worth the trouble. In Second Life, suddenly we have no responsibilities and obligations–at least until we seek them out. You can make yourself look like anything you want, you can go do whatever you like … suddenly you’re someone else.

So what did I do when I came to Second Life? I wandered around, looking for somewhere to be, someone to connect to. I strayed off the path and spoke to a wolf (his name is Tony), and contrary to my mother’s warnings he helped me get back on the path. He didn’t even steal anything from my goody bag. Hmm, this is beginning to sound dirty. Let’s move on.

For the record, my suggestion to new residents is that they click the search button at the bottom of the screen, go to Places, and start searching on keywords that interest them: airplanes, dancing, robots, gardens, whatever might make you happy. I didn’t realize that a person could do that, so I just moved around on the map to wherever I saw a cluster of green dots. Each green dot is a person; I was trying to find the fun places.

I blundered into a haunted house, a deserted amphitheater, a couple of private conversations, and eventually the Furry Vermin Dragon’s Roost, where there were a lot of furries dancing.

The Furry Vermin Dragon’s Roost, where the fursons are friendly. The dance objects are those cone-shaped things in primary colors on the ceiling.

Do you know about furries? They’re animal-people, I suppose you’d say. Rat-people and cat-people and skunk-people and so on. I don’t know a lot about furridom, but it seems to me that if you want to go furry, SL is a pretty nice place to do it. You go buy an avatar or a costume, and poof! You’re a fox. Or a skunktaur. And then you go dancing!

Yes, there was dancing. As with having sex (we’ll get to that in another post), there are several ways to dance. Sometimes there are “pose balls” hovering above the floor. You right-click on one and sit on it, and voila! You’re dancing.

Another way dancing happens is with objects on the ceiling, usually in colors. You click on one, and it makes you dance.

And then you can carry dances around with you. You can buy dances or get them from friends (thanks, RaH)! These are easiest to manage with a HUD, which I’ll probably talk bout sooner or later.

Anyway, here I was at a club not knowing how to dance. I had checked the animations that came with my new avatar, but they only included brief, individual dance moves. I figured I was supposed to build up a dance from those, and I was surprised at all the furries who were dancing so smoothly across the floor. Then a lovely cat-girl named Chastity, of whom more later, told me to click on the blue thing on the ceiling, and suddenly I was light on my feet.

It’s a glorious world where you can have whatever kind of perfect breasts you like *and* you automatically know how to dance.

