Tags

, ,

A couple of weeks ago, my region of Second Life crashed or was rebooted or something while I was home working on one of my many projects. My Second Life software apologized to me and dumped me into a random spot, and what was really interesting to me when I arrived was how different the collection of people I saw there was from the collection of people I usually see at, say, a club or a store or at a good wandering spot or blown by the wind onto my front porch.

An arbitrary sampling of Second Life residents from my first ousting

In addition to a winged girl (me), there were a policeman, a guy with a cigar and a fedora, a she-male with bat wings, and a cat furry with paws instead of hands. There were others too, but I waited a bit for things to rez before taking my snapshots, and people were getting out of there on the double. I’m just glad the crash or update or whatever it was didn’t catch me in the midst of anything too embarrassing.

(Actually, I did that to myself recently when my friend Michelle offered me a teleport to a dance club and I was in the middle of changing. I accidentally clicked on the wrong button and took the teleport, so anyone who was paying really close attention would have seen me there for a few seconds in my underthings, with an arctic fox tail and one fox ear on my head. There may have been other embarrassing details, but if so I’ve repressed them. Of course I teleported home as soon as I realized what I’d done.)

The same thing happened a couple of hours later, with a similar result. This time there were two winged girls, plus a guy with a box for a head (just opening his first SL purchase? But it didn’t look like a box from a store) and someone coming in on a parachute.

The second ousting. I can’t be positive, but I think there’s someone rezzing up there at the top of the lamppost.

So what made all this interesting to me was the realization that even though I run into many people in Second Life and go all kinds of different places, the private spots in Second Life have a whole population whom I’m much less likely to run into, or else there are public spots I’m completely missing. In other words, I’d fooled myself into thinking I’d been seeing all of Second Life, whereas really I’d just been seeing my home, my friends’ homes, and the public parts of the place. It’s fun for me to try to guess what goes on in those many private spots I never see.

