Tags

, , ,

My recent post about things in Second Life ending got me thinking about the incredible amount of unfinished initiatives, abandoned projects, discarded alts, and other things that never quite become what they were intended to be in and around Second Life.

Take this, for instance: Pwnd magazine. It looks very promising to me, if you’re interested in PDF magazines about Second Life (which I’m not quite certain I am). The layouts are top-notch, the attitude is wild and fun, the writing seems to be quite good…and the most recent issue is number 2, from about 11 months ago. At best, we could say Pwnd might be on a hiatus, but I don’t think you’re allowed a hiatus until you’ve put out at least four issues, however good your magazine is, so I think that’s a little too generous and we’ll have to say that Pwnd has been pwnd by the mists of time. In the immortal words of Monty Python “That is an ex-parrot.”


Pwnd

I see you making a little “f” shape with your lips, as though to say “failure.” But don’t quite yet! Why? Because everything in Second Life ends, just like everything in First Life, so the fact that Pwnd (and the Second Life Anti-Griefing Guild, and stores we used to know and love, and SLang Life, and all kinds of other wonderful or at least wonderfully-intended things) has ended leaves us with an existential question that applies as much to two-month Second Life dance clubs as it does to Abba or The Roaring Twenties or the Republic of Texas or the brilliant television series Firefly (rest its soul): how are we different for having had it? Have we learned anything? Have we changed? Did we get something out of our system?

I don’t know what Haver Cole, who appears to have been the driving force behind Pwnd, took away from the experience, but I hope she got a lot of fun putting it together, learned some things, perhaps got to know better how she wanted to spend her time (not making a magazine? I’m not joking: that you don’t want to work that hard all the time is something very useful to discover about yourself!), and a terrific sense of accomplishment. Whatever else happens, to her dying day she has the right to look back and say “I could run a damn fine magazine if I wanted to, and here’s the proof!”

I haven’t read the whole thing (this is back to that thing about not being so very interested in PDF magazines), so I hope I’m not putting my foot in my mouth and using as my example a magazine with a playful article about how fun it is to pretend to have an abortion or something (although of course no publication would actually print an article like that!). But even if I am, the point stands: you probably have abandoned friendships, projects, ideas, homes, alts, blog, or something you meant to take much further in Second Life. If you do, don’t despair that it ended! What did it give you that you wouldn’t have without having done it?

Well, I don’t know if that reassures you. Along with some things I’ve done in Second Life that had a good long run, I have a number of abandoned projects in my Second Life, and I’d certainly like to think of them as having been worthwhile even thought they weren’t completed. Thomas Edison famously said “I am not discouraged, because every wrong attempt discarded is another step forward.” I don’t know that everything we abandon in Second Life is a step forward, but at least some of those things leave us with fond memories and maybe a great t-shirt.

^^^\ Kate /^^^

PS – I made up “Sexicat” because I thought it sounded like the kind of name someone would have in Second Life, so imagine my surprise when I searched people in Second Life and found not one with that name! I thought my Second Life sensibilities must be slipping, until I searched for “Sexycat” and found dozens. 🙂

