Tags

, , , , , ,

Gwyneth Llewelyn recently posted about a nifty new scripting feature that will make a lot of new tricks possible with Linden Scripting Language or LSL, the programming language scripters use in Second Life. The feature lets a scripter know exactly where someone’s touching a prim, while in the past all you could find out was that someone was touching a prim.


Gwyneth Llewelyn demonstrating a color picker she created using the new feature

I’m a sort of lapsed scripter myself, with my biggest projects to date having been the Diversionarium social and word games. Speaking of which, I believe my Extropian friends are going to relaunch the Diversionarium shortly, which means you’ll soon be able to go play the quote puzzle game called Quoste or the building game called Mystery Build or any of the others again.

So, I was overjoyed about the new feature, especially since it would really help should I someday get around around to building my planned fireworks sculpting system. It will also reduce the number of prims needed for to create a lot of things, particularly complicated HUDs. Hooray!


Qarl Linden, who developed the new touch location sense feature. Hooray, Qarl!

But that’s not the good news. oh, no, no.

The good news is that along with this new feature, Linden Lab is about to roll out a new scripting engine called Mono on their servers. If I have all my facts straight, Mono won’t make any changes to LSL itself…all our old scripts will still run. It will just be a different system running those scripts, one that in some cases will go as much as a hundred times faster! *And* it allows scripters to use more memory in writing scripts, which makes certain things possible that weren’t possible before in scripting.

If you’re interested in the nitty gritty, there’s a transcript of the announcement right here: http://vteamblog.com/2008/08/08/qa-agni-to-catch-mono-with-periapse-linden-8708-3pm-transcript/ , where Periapse Linden lays everything out.


Periapse Linden

I’ll be holding on to my virtual hat, because a rollout on this level could certainly cause some trouble if anything goes wrong (although apparently they’ve been testing the tar out of it), but if anything does, try to relax and think about the sudden, surprising way in which things will run more quickly in Second Life. Maybe I should state things more plainly: Mono means less lag!!! Hooray for less lag!

How much less lag? I have no idea. It might just be a smallish effect in certain specialized situations, or it might be really noticeable: I guess we’ll find out soon! But less lag is exactly what we’ve been asking for. Come dance with me in my previous post to celebrate! Tangent won’t mind. 😉

^^^\ Kate /^^^

