Tags

, , , ,

Later update: It doesn’t seem as though there’s enough interest for this to take off, so I’m shelving the idea. Oh well!

Here’s what I was thinking: it would be really useful to have a list of people’s favorite things to do in Second Life and where they do them, especially if it’s really varied. It would be the kind of list where you could say “I want to do something interesting in Second Life. What should I go do?” It would include clubs that are fun to go to, special activities like surfing or skydiving or airplane dogfighting, groups that are worth joining, interesting things to shop for, classes, building activities, and I don’t know what else.

And of course I’m thinking of this as a new page for Second Links. So maybe, I was thinking, I could put on a contest. I’d put up, say, L$5,000 as prize money (either one prize or divided among the first-, second-, and third-place winners) and create a special Web page where you could enter locations with brief descriptions of what there is to do there (or leave out the location if it didn’t apply). If people went to the page in Second Life, their name and the location would be filled out automatically. Anyway, everyone who entered would put in maybe five (?) of these entries, and then there’d be some kind of judging (maybe a panel of Second Life movers and shakers? Or some kind of voting on the best entries by anyone who wanted to visit the page?), and in the end we’d have winners who got prizes and a big list of great things to do.

What do you think? Any suggestions? Would a page like that be useful to you? Would you want to be in the contest?

^^^\ Kate /^^^

