Tags

, , ,

I haven’t even used release candidate 1.21 yet, but you know when you see someone just walking down the street and your heart goes pit-a-pat? It’s like that.

Here are some of the things that make RC 1.21 such a hottie:

* Using Linden Scripting Language (LSL), people can now write scripts that detect where on a prim was touched. This makes it possible to do all kinds of things that weren’t possible before, and makes complex interfaces easier to create and much less primful. Imagine if you could draw a picture of a keyboard and then type on it: it’s like that!

* Moderation for group chat! Group owners and officers (or whoever they give moderation powers to) can now control who can use voice and text in group discussions, which means no one can join your group and spam your members if you’d rather they didn’t. 🙂

* Friend offers can now include a line of text, which just seems more civilized to me.

* We’ll now be able to drop inventory onto chat windows. I know this is a picky little thing, but I drop inventory to people I’m chatting with all the time and I think it’s a wonderful idea.

* Save snapshots to PNG or JPEG format. Hooray! I don’t know about you, but I take a lot of pictures, and they end up as a folder full of massive bitmap files, which offends my space-conserving sensibilities.

* Last but possibly best, scripts can now be converted to Mono (the new, faster, sexier script engine)! Mono should eventually make scripts run much more efficiently and help fight lag, as people convert their scripts to it. Unfortunately any scripted things you have already won’t be converted automatically 😦 but over time Mono should make a noticeable difference.

There’s more, but those are the highlights. I’d better go put something come-hither on before 1.21 walks out of range. Will you excuse me for a moment?

^^^\ Kate /^^^

