Tags

, , , , , ,

Video games are not my thing, but my interest was caught by an article about Microsoft because they’re doing some pretty interesting motion capture to offer with their X Box game system. It involves (I think) a cloud of little laser points that (seem to) do a very good job of detecting exactly where all of the parts of your body are, and can do other fascinating things, like recognize individual faces. And if it can do all this, then surely it could recognize facial expressions?

I don’t for a minute imagine that everyone would start using this technology for moving around and dancing and all that even if it were available, but if *eventually* it could be used for Second Life, maybe we could get much more realistic hugs, easy access to all kinds of facial expressions, and so on! (I won’t go into the “so on.”) What do you think? Would you have any use for it?

^^^\ Kate /^^^

